A Story in a Month

A while back I posted on the benefits of having a regular writing schedule, where writing even as little as 300 words per day can result in a great deal of progress over the course of several months or a year. I thought I’d share an example.

I subscribe to duotrope.com’s news feed, which notifies me of upcoming anthologies, contests, and the latest news from the world of publishing (i.e., who is accepting submissions again, and who has juts stopped). It’s a great little resource that saves me a bit of time when looking for markets for my work. Rougly one month ago, I came across a call for submissions on duotrope from Cruentus Libri Press, for an upcoming anthology whose theme was horror and wrestling.  The title, “Lucha Gore”, evoked images of bloody wrestling bouts by men in spandex tights and colourful ski masks, with tentacled horrors figuring somewhere in the picture.  Not exactly a combination that springs readily to mind.  So I dismissed the idea, after telling some friends about it. 

Then one of them emailed me back, daring me to write something to submit to the anthology in time for the July 31st deadline.

So I did.

Over the course of a month I developed an idea, tossed it around wth some writing buddies, and last night wrote the final words to the piece.  I now have a 4900-word manuscript, which I will edit and submit to Cruentus Libri Press, just in time to meet their deadline.

It’s amazing what you can do in a month, a step at a time.

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Good for you, for being dedicated for your work. The best author in the world could be out there right now and we may never hear about him/her because she/he is too lazy to sit down and write.
    Good luck

    Reply

Leave a Reply

