2015 is Already Looking Awesome

It’s a New Year, and that means an opportunity for new starts – professionally and personally. The changeover from one year to the next can also be a reset, of sorts, for our creativity so that we can attack our ongoing projects with renewed vigour.

I am developing lots of new story ideas while I wait to hear from editors, some of which are solidly in the science fiction vein. This is a big step for me, as the vast majority of my professional fiction sales thus far have been horror. Every new genre has a learning curve, and I am enjoying the prospect of researching biological phenomena that will enrich my stories. I know I can turn to my writing circle, and the occasional beta reader, to help me reach the next level. What I learn can also give me an interesting factoid or two to impress people at cocktail parties. I play the long game. 😉

I do, however, have awesome news to share on the writing front. McGraw-Hill Ryerson, a premier Canadian educational publisher, has purchased reprint rights for two of my short stories: The Old Boys Club and White Noise. This is incredibly exciting because my stories will be added to an electronic collection of contemporary Canadian short fiction, which educators can access in order to build readers (in print or electronic form) for their students. So yes, some day high school students might curse my name as they struggle to write term papers about my stories.

Life is good.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

